*gulp!* Here goes nothing!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

JediGymnast

Gymnast
Hello! I'm a 26 year old self-taught gymnast who has never set foot in a gymnasium. Ever since the Magnificent Seven won gold in 1996, I've wanted to take gymnastics classes. I was ten at the time and my parents said I was too old, so I forgot about it. Last year I watched the Fab Five take gold again and, once again, wanted to learn gymnastics. After seeing videos on YouTube of adult gymnasts, I realized it wasn't impossible. Long story short, I didn't find any classes- gymnastics, tumbling, or otherwise -for anyone over 18 within 80 miles. :( So, I started teaching myself. In the past ten months I've learned just about all the Level 1 floor and beam skills and am adding in a few Level 2 skills (thank you, Google). I know I'll probably get chewed out for even trying without a coach or crash mats, but after turning that first straight-legged cartwheel...I got hooked. I'm still hopeful I'll find a closer class, but until then I'm just doing things solo. I have no delusions of competing, I just want to learn and have fun. :)

Love your screen name! I won't chew you out. I think it's great that you want to learn some skills! I hope you are able to find some professional instruction and continue to learn. I had a PE teacher in Middle school who, with no Gymnastics background, learned how to do a backhand spring at 38!

I'm 30 and I do compete in trampoline and tumbling. Granted I did do gymnastics as a kid. I also always wanted to do gym again and could never find one until I was 26 and had moved. Look at dance studios too a lot of them offer tumbling classes and are more open to adults :)

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using ChalkBucket mobile app