Parents Gym dues, various novice questions!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Graham14

Proud Parent
I'm attempting to put together a budget and to-do list for DD and DS's first gym classes and other activities. I received some fantastic info and tips from you all last time I posted, and now that I've got my thoughts together I have more questions!

Are there fees/dues to a gym besides basic term tuitions and registration fees? (For "tot 1" and "parent/tot" classes). I know for dance there are recital costumes to buy, but is there anything like that for gymnastics? I'm sure I will need to ask the gym all of this stuff too!

I got DD a leo and athletic type shorts/shirt for DS (parent/tot class), but do they need like, the bars grips? Or gymnastics shoes? (Total novice here lol)

Also a weird question, but should the girls wear underwear under their leos? For dance, the tights and tutus hide the baggy preschooler underwear coming out of the sides of the Leo, but I have no idea for gymnastics!

Thanks!

No, there are usually not a lot of hidden costs in recreational gymnastics. There may be extras like "gym fest day" where you can go through obstacle courses and earn a trophy or seasonal fundraising parties (usually team members hosting fun activities to raise funds for team) but usually nothing mandatory.
No grips or special shoes or anything required for quite some time. ;) Just their gymnastics outfits and a smile, and preferably no socks!