WAG Gymnastics for dummies...

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Traci

Proud Parent
Hey, is there a guide for gymnastics? DD is going level 10 and I am clueless as to what skills are worth and what is needed. I probably should just continue to be clueless, uh? :)

Reactions: sce
As a coach I don't mind when parents ask questions about "how the sport works" as it is usually just out of general curiosity - if you weren't a gymnast it's very weird and even if you were it has changed a lot - so if knowing what skills are worth, etc., will help you better understand/enjoy then you can definitely find those answers.

On the other hand, when I was a gymnast, my mom knew pretty much nothing about the sport - she could identify the four different events and that was about it. But that did not take away from her enjoyment (or shear terror at some points I think) of watching me compete.

My suggestion is watch some YouTube gymnastics videos with your daughter and let her teach you skills she does/is training/doesn't do/etc. Then just sit back and enjoy the ride!

There are some videos on Youtube of gymnastics routines broken down by their skill value. These are helpful and fun to watch as well! You could search for "Ragan Smith floor score breakdown" (just a random example, could pick any well known gymnast) and go down the rabbit hole from there. The videos name eavh skill and say wether it is A/B/C etc...

I tend to just ask my son, and he will give me that info. It can be fun to connect that way. He loves to share his knowledge of the sport with me :) And reading the CoP is like deciphering heiroglyphics to me!

Like what skills are "A", "B", "C" - etc.

OP -