WAG Help coaching rec gymnasts

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi everyone. I'm fairly new here and I was hoping to get some good advice from you all :)
I have been asked by my coach to coach the level 1-2 rec class at my gym. I was wondering if anyone might have any drills or tips or games that I could use for my class to make sure the kids learn a lot and have a fun time. I am new to coaching and want to make my coach proud and make sure that the kids have good basics.
Thanks for the help :)

Great for you! Coaching is a very fun thing to do. You coach level 1 and 2, do they already have the level 1 and 2 skills? First you have to make a list (on paper or in your head) on the skills you want them to work on. Then you can look for progressions (there aren't too many on this level). Be ready to do a lot of spotting. Make sure you have a stretching and warmup routine for the start and end of class. Warmup can also be a game or a relay race etc. Also think of conditioning if you are supposed to do that with them. And always remember that it is rec, it should be mostly fun!

Thanks for your help [emoji3] the level 2 girls have very basic skills ( forward/backward rolls, cartwheels, round offs, and handstands) the level 1 girls don't have any skills yet

I coach preschool rec classes and am always looking for new ways to make practice fun for the kiddos. I watch a lot of youtube videos to get ideas, there are also some great links on pinterest. Gymnasticsprogressions.com also has some great tips and videos, though you have to buy a subscription to this site.

I'll give you some links for the videos/channels that I think would be helpful for a rec coach:

This channel called Kleuren Turnen:

I linked two example videos but the channel has tons more!