Coaches Help with Level 8 12 year old

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

DD does not seem to have huge fears on anything except her full on floor. Just wondering if any of you have any words of wisdom that I can pass on to her. She has gotten most all of her 8 skills including a pike back and giants on bars, tusk vault, bhs's beam, front tuck, bounder, front tuck on floor. I have very little knowledge when it comes to gymnastics so I am not sure why she has such a block when it comes to her full. I see alot on the internet about training this but I was hoping someone here could give her a little advice. Thanks.

If she throws the full, can she land it consistently, or does she have execution problems with doing the skill?

If she is having problems consistently completing the skill, this can often lead to fear with twisting...it's scary to be out of control. If privates are offered, you might see about arranging a private so that drills tailored just to her "problem" area could be set up...at this point in the season at practice the group is probably using just a few mats, etc, so those gymnasts still struggling might benefit from a little extra time. I'm not a big proponent of privates in general but in some cases like these, halfway into optional season, it can be a positive thing just to go back to whatever drill individually she might need and regain some confidence.