Hi everyone!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hello! I'm Shelby and I just joined chalkbucket. I'm pretty new to gymnastics, I've only been doing it for about a year now. I used to be a cheerleader, and I am also in karate/martial arts. One of my friends took me to an open gym last year, and I guess because I'm in shape from karate and know a tiny bit of tumbling from being a cheerleader, I impressed a couple of people who talked me into signing up for gymnastics! It's been a lot of fun and I always wanted to try something new, but sometimes I feel awkward because I'm older than the other girls. This site is really cool tho, it comes up whenever I google anything about gym so I figured I would sign up. Hopefully I can learn some more about gym from here.

Hi Shelby, welcome to ChalkBucket! I've just started gymnastics (almost two months ago) and I'm a black belt, too. You'll meet many nice, helpful people here. Don't worry about being the oldest one in your class....there's many gymnasts here who were late beginners and with tons of determination and hard work, they achieved their goals. :) Have fun!

Thank you, gympocalypse! I'm not too worried, I am having fun and that is whats most important. I guess 14 isn't too old, but I just feel old.

That's cool that you're a blackbelt. I have to admit I am not yet...I am testing next week. But it says you can't change your user name once you pick it so I took it a week early!! Do you find your martial arts helped you in gym at all?