Hi new here; ? re: 5 y/o

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi I am new to gymnastics (my kids would fall in love with a sport I know nothing about). I have 5 y/o and 3 1/2 y/o girls. My 3 y/o is in the little tumbling class, has no fear, and they might move her to the 4 y/o class because of this. My 5 y/o has a little more fear, but is being moved up to a level 2? (the gym doesn't call their rec classes by levels). She is doing really well, and I was told she is one of the strongest 5 y/o they've seen. She seems to catch on pretty fast. She is a tricky child though (first born). She refuses to try any other sports, just gymnastics. How do I know if she is in the right gym? (We live by a few gyms). How do I know if they are pushing her not enough, or too much?
What should 5 y/o be able to do?
Also, what level do kids start competing, what age?
I just need a little manual on gymnastics; I did a lot of sports, but not this one. I just don't want to do wrong for my kids just because I don't know the sport.
Also, is it better to keep bumping my 3 y/o up based on skill or age.
Thanks in advance.

welcome to gymnastics!

I hope that this helps a little: (i also have a 5 year old gymnast)

the 5 yo...strong, catches on quickly, only wants to do gymnastics...Sounds like gym is the place for her to be right now. At 5 years old, gymnastics should be fun. As far as "What should a 5 yo be able to do" - honestly? My answer has to be: stay in class, pay attention to the coach, and have a great time learning gymnastics. At 5 years old, there really isn't anything specific that a child should be able to do. Skills aren't age-specific. For instance, my 5 year old is training for level 4 and level 5 currently, but there are SEVERAL other 5 year olds in our gym who are learning front and back rolls, cartwheels and handstands and bridges.

How do you know if you are in the right gym?