Parents Home gymnastics equipment thesis research

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Creatib

Gymnast
Hello! I’m currently a senior in college working on my thesis project about redesigning home gymnastics equipment for young kids. Being a competitive gymnast up until I went to college, I have a lot of passion and experience in the field and know that home gymnastics equipment can be really intrusive and a bit of an eye sore in most homes. I’d love to hear some parents’ opinions and experiences with home equipment to get your perspectives as well as how you integrated (or didn’t integrate) it into your homes.

Please feel free to ask me any questions about this or my project as well, I’d be happy to answer them!

I would say the general vibe of people on here is that home equipment is a bad idea because it can lead to bad habits formed at home where they arent being guided by coaches who know what they are doing. That and as you start to do higher hours (with higher levels) home should be a place for downtime so you dont over train.

I have had some home equipment over the years and generally didnt find it terribly helpful and it took up a great deal of space. I think smaller pieces of equipment that focus more on strength and drill type exercise as opposed to skill acquisition would be more beneficial (and could probably be smaller and more affordable too) The pull up bar was the best thing i got my daughter and its out of the way because its in the door frame. I like floor bars (for like presses and handstand holds) too you can work on smaller stuff and strength but i think they are a bit pricey. we built some but they arent as nice and sturdy as the ones you buy.