MAG Homeschool question

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Men's Artistic Gymnastics

acam1103

Proud Parent
For those who homeschool...we are considering homeschooling our oldest for non-gymnastics reasons. While it is unlikely that he is going to do college level gymnastics I don't want to close any doors and have regrets later and from what I have read on here and other places there are specific rules regarding homeschool (maybe just about online classes....but I'm not sure). I have almost no knowledge of homeschooling rules in general in my state or with regard to NCAA so I am starting from scratch. Can anyone give me some tips or where to find the rules for NCAA? My son will be in 8th grade but taking high school math and science.

Congratulations! We have been homeschooling since kindergarten - also for non-gymnastics reasons. As a former classroom teacher, I can honestly tell you that homeschooling does not necessarily mean closing doors - it means others are opening. Homeschooling isn't an inferior style of education to brick-and-mortar school - it is just different. If my kids went to public school, they would have "missed out" on several opportunities they have gained by being homeschooled. On the other hand, yes, there are things they have "missed out" on by not being in public/private school, but we just see it as a matter of choices and this is what we have chosen.