How many are newbies to gym? How many of you have experience?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I

itstallgirl

I'm posting like a mad woman today (it's monsoon season where I live with heavy lightning and thunder storms keeping me inside). I was just curious for adult gymnasts, how many have had previous gymnastics experience. Was it just rec or competitive? A few years ago I was interested in "adult" gym (I was under 18 at the time) but the only available option was open gym and intended for experienced gymnasts that just didn't compete. Technically I've "done gym". I apparently did a few classes when I was 3 and was told I was too tall or something silly. My "little" brother actually stayed in for a long time and was quite good, but is now a 6' 4" 200 lbs hockey player lol. Nevertheless, I consider myself a complete beginner. Is anyone else here in that boat? I can do a solid front roll and back roll too (snazzy I know). I can do V sits and those type of strength things but that's really about it. Do any beginners have advice on starting? I'd love to meet some people who are in my position, at the gym I feel like most of the kids in there are young enough to be mine and they're double flipping off the beam!

Welcome to CB! I'm a total beginner...been in an adult class for a year and never did gymnastics when I was younger. I was a dancer my whole life (and still am I guess!) :]

This is my advice: