Parents How to discuss injuries with your gymnast

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

TippysMom

Proud Parent
Hi Everyone. I am new to ChalkBucket and new to the world of gymnastics. I have a dd who just turned 5 in her first year on pre team. I frequently watch her practice and recently our gym has had a few girls who suffered major injuries in practice. On one occasion, she noticed that a child was injured and on another occasion she had no clue (even though the Paramedics responded). I am wondering how to talk to her about gymnastics injuries, or if I should. She has a tendency to keep things inside and I don't want her to develop fears based on the experiences of other gymnasts. However, I also don't want to scare her by bringing up a topic that she is oblivious to. I would love to hear from other parents or coaches on how you talk to your gymnasts about injuries.

Mine got to experience them first hand :)

I wouldn't bring anything up about other people. She should make sure that she is using equipment properly to avoid getting injured, needlessly.

My DD has noticed girls in casts, slings, boots etc (hard not to notice), and has raised the topic.

She is a little older (7.5, started at 6.5)I have simply explained that people get injuries for lots of reasons, including any sport. And I gave a not-so-scary example of colliding in soccer and getting a bruise or something. I tell her the most important thing to stay safe is staying in control and using proper form, and that it is so great that she is in gymnastics, because you learn so much about how to control everything your body is doing (or something like that).

She seemed satisfied with that.

I don't claim that's the 'right' thing to say for me or anyone else - just what came to mind and seemed to satisfy my DD in that moment :)