I need help with my flexibility!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

F

FutureNadia1234

I've been working on my splits for about 4 months,I finally got them with my right leg so now im working on over-splits.My left leg is coming along,but not there yet.But I cannot do the middle splits[aka straddle] to save my life! Everytime I do one my hips feel like their popping out of place or something.

I also need help with my back and shoulders flexibilty.They need the work more than any other part of my body.

So does anyone have any good stretches for flexibility?
Also,does anyone know why my hips do that when I do a straddle?
Will I even be able to do a straddle without them doing that?

Work your hip flexors, that will help a lot. You can do this by doing a froggie stretch (picture a frog with its legs splayed out behind it) The goal is to get your legs flat behind you, and as close to your body as possible. A straddle split is a pretty un-natural thing to do if you think about it. And you may unfortunalty never overcome the feeling of your hips popping out of place, I have had issues with it my whole life,but if you take it slow and easy, and you're patient with it, it won't cause you issues later on, and you should be able to do a full split. Good luck!!

For middle splits, you can lie on your back with your bottom slid to a wall. Put your legs up on the wall & open them to a straddle. Gravity will allow your legs to be pushed down slowly & safely to help with your splits. You could also use some light ankle weights to help too. (I hope this description helps!)

For middle splits, you can lie on your back with your bottom slid to a wall. Put your legs up on the wall & open them to a straddle. Gravity will allow your legs to be pushed down slowly & safely to help with your splits. You could also use some light ankle weights to help too. (I hope this description helps!)