Identity Crisis

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

fujimurph

Gymnast
This is my first time writing on any kind of forum so forgive me if I do something weird lol.

Hi guys,

I'm not really sure how to approach what I want to say. I'm not the type to post this kind of stuff but recently I feel that this might be of some help.

I'm 19 years old and I'm a gymnast, although sometimes it feels difficult to even call myself that. I've been in gymnastics classes since I was little but I never competed. The closest I ever got was being on my club's pre-team in middle school. The club didn't have enough money nor interest from kids for a boys team at the time, but my pre-team was starting to change that. Towards the end of my 8th grade year, my coach had us try on leotards for the first time, and 13 year old me was not too fond of the short shorts and such lol. Little did I know that the club was going to get us ready for competition season later that year, yet it didn't happen. That summer, I and a few other boys left the gym. I left because I was going on to high school. The school I went to was 1) not close to my club and 2) was much closer to a parkour/freerunning gym that I had been to only a few times but really enjoyed. A few years later, after I transferred high schools, I got into coaching and started coaching rec classes at a different gymnastics club. This in turn got me interested in gymnastics again. I looked up my old club from middle school to find that it had moved to a location much closer to my home and that the adult classes were taught by my old coach.