WAG If it were your child...

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

JoyAvenueMom

Proud Parent
I am relatively new to CB, and have found the posts have been so helpful! I have an 8yo DD who has been involved in the sport for over 4 years. She goes to a mostly rec gym which competes L1-L4 in a state-sanctioned program and L5-prep op in AAU. She has what I estimate as average natural talent but a passion for the sport and lots of internal drive. She competed L4 last season and will compete prep op (AAU Novice), or L5 if she ever gets that darn kip!, this season. After reading and learning what I can from this site, I realize we will likely need to change gyms at some point in the near future. (assuming DD remains devoted to the sport). In our current gym, there are only 4 other girls competing above L4. They all competed L5 last year. The gym does not have the staff or equipment to train high level optional gymnasts. However, there are many things I love about the gym. There is very little drama, the kids are not pressured or mistreated. They spend lots of time up-training and DD is never bored. It is convenient to our home and DD has friends in our group. The HC is approachable and flexible. My question concerns the considerations and timing for switching gyms. There are a couple of USAG gyms in the area, but they are much larger and I have heard there is much more competetive "drama". I was fortunate enough to follow my passion for music through high school and into college. IF DD still wants to do this at 17, I want to know that I did everything "right" to help her get there. I have spoken to the coach and at this point she is not planning to expand or offer USAG in the future. So, do I leave DD where she is until the HC tells me it's time to move? Or do we make the move at the end of the season so she can begin L5 in a USAG gym? Any advice or opinions are welcomed.