Coaches I'm a new coach, and I'm starting an Xcel team.

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Aero

Coach
Hello everyone. I've been teaching gymnastics at a recreational level for four years and I've really fallen in love with it. I wanted to really coach a team, as I think it would be the best way to challenge myself and really take my job to the next level. A good number of my rec kids have gone on to team, and I've been thanked on multiple occasions by parents for bringing their kids to a more serious level in the sport, so I know I've got to be doing something right.

Anyways, I talked to the club owner with the idea of starting an Xcel team and he agreed. I'm always studying the sport on my own time, and I have tons and tons of knowledge on drills for skills, biomechanics, progressions, strength and flexibility conditioning, and even a bit of sports psychology. The only thing I don't have is experience coaching a team. I know it's very different from teaching a recreational class, but I think I have everything else on lock. It's the idea of having studied as much as I can, and now all that's left is to take the first real step and actually go through with it.

Here are some things I have questions about:

1. Pricing/costs for the parents
2. How often practices should occur and how long (I'm thinking twice a week, at three hours each)
3. When it comes time to learn routines, would I need a choreographer?
4. How similar are Xcel competitions compared to JO competitions?
5. How do I learn to set the apparatus for each level?

There's also one more big question. Eventually, my ultimate goal is to teach a full USAG Junior Olympic team. When the time comes, can I convert my Xcel team into a JO team. Both programs are part of USAG, so how much mobility is there. Also, is there an official code of points for Xcel?