Parents Introduction and Questions

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

GymMomK

Proud Parent
Hello :)

I'm a long time lurker and truly appreciate all the information I have read here! I'm kind of a quiet person, so not sure how often I will post, but it is nice to know there are others out there in the same boat!

My dd is 11 and a level 9 gymnast. We live in a state where gymnastics is not as "important" as other sports (or as important as it is in other states) and it makes me sad/frustrated/confused/etc. My dd only practices 16 hours a week, 1 coach, 3 girls. They are planning to try something new this summer, more girls, but also more coaches, same time.

DD went to regionals today and actually had her worst meet of the season :( All of a sudden, she has decided that the judges make her nervous. She looks great in gym, but at the meet, she fell apart. Does anyone know if this is normal? It reminds me of test anxiety. (I'm a teacher). And is it something that tends to get better with age/experience/maturity? I found Doctor Ali's stuff and was wondering what kind of reputation she has in the gym world or here? Should I order any of her stuff? And if so, what is best?

Also, what are your thoughts on gymnasts who live in areas where the kids just don't put in the practice hours like the other areas? Is it possible with extra conditioning (with a trainer) she can compete with other girls who practice more? Her ultimate goal is college gymnastics? I know it is a while off, but I want her to have some kind of chance.

Hi, Welcome to CB! Lots of people on here love Doc Ali. Part of the new nervousness could be age. At 11 she is starting to see how her meets affect her future, so that could be a reason for her nerves. Also at age 11 and a level 9 she has a better chance than many to go on to do college gym. She still has time to get more skills for 10 and get better at competing. Good Luck and welcome to CB!