Is 20 too old to start gymnastics, and still be competitive?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I know that the answer to this question will be totally subjective, and dependent on the athlete's work ethic, commitment etc; however, I'd still like some insight from real gymnasts, and perhaps person experience.

A little about me: I am currently 20 years old and attending the United States Military Academy Preparatory school. I have very little prior gymnastics experience, in fact the only sport i've done was muay thai (kickboxing). Recently, since I enlisted in the US Army about 18 months ago, I've become infatuated with Crossfit. Through my crossfit workouts, using the rings and such, I've started to chase my dream of being a gymnast.

My goal is to make it onto the USMA Gymnastics team, though most people have told me that this won't be possible. I've been working dilligently on my gymnastics strength skills, though the lack of support makes it hard to put everything i have into my training.

Realistically, would I have a shot at becoming a real gymnast with such a late start?

Thank you for your time and help, it is much appreciated

v/r
CDT JWB

While being a teenager is the prime for female gymnasts, male gymnasts peak in their 20's if I'm correct. Many people start gymnastics older and turn out to be great.

Oksana Chusovitna, who was 33 at the last Olympic games took silver on vault. She was by far the oldest competitor on the floor, but her gymnastics was amazing. And that's all that matters.

So no, when it comes down to it, you can still be competitive. If you work hard to make up for the years that other gymnasts had in their teen years, you can catch up and still be a good competitor. The twenties are far from being old.

Good luck :)

You can do it, I'm not sure how it works in the US but many Australians have not taken up the sport until well into their adult years and have become very successful competitors.