Just brainstorming...

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Since my background is in experimental psychology and I love statistics and numbers, I thought it would be interesting to see a graph of gymnasts progress through the years. I haven't really found anything on the internet related to this but thought that it would be really interesting and enlightening. What I would like to see is a type of poll or plotted chart with the following data points tracked every 6 months:

- age of gymnast
- current level
- hrs training in the gym per week
- other sports or supplemental activities (ballet) and hours per week
- injuries or stopped taking gym for whatever reason

This is just a rough draft and I am sure that I am probably missing some other data points that could be pertinent info. By tracking this every six months I think that it would be interesting to see the difference in data and at what ages/levels kids make certain levels or completely drop out of gymnastics. Of course there would need to be a controlled set of "subjects" in this longterm study who would be willing to participate and log their data every 6 months regardless of where their gymnast was at that point in time.

Anybody else have any comments or suggestions on this? With over 5,000 members here on CB, I would think that here would be a great place to start with this.

COuld be very interesting. I think you'd have to stick with girls in the USAG programme and probably L4 and up to make it more cohesive. But as you say with the number of members we have you should be able to get enough for effect.

Bear in mind we have 5000 members on paper, but the number of active members in WAY less. As you know they come and go like the wind, or when they have taken what they need. The number who stick around for a while is limited.

I think you see a lot less girls at Level 10 and Elite than in years past..the requirements are just so rigorous that the numbers just keep dwindling.