making the switch.. prep op to levels.

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

This year was the first year i have competed, and I was a prep op novice (equivalent to level 4/5 USAG). I am 13, almost 14, so that's why i went with prep op in the first place. But I want to do levels (if that's not what they're called, i have no idea what else to call them.), but how would i go about with the switch from prep op to level 5? do i just talk to the level 5 coach? she's seen me in practice and knows what i can do. I can do everything a level 5 can do, and more on floor and bars, but the one thing stopping me is my kip. should i go for level 5 or 6? all these changes for moving levels down due to 8b are confusing me too. :confused:

THANKS GUYS, i really appreciate it. :)

ask your coach.:)

Is this another example of that tongue in cheek coach humor you mentioned in another thread? I thought this place was here for people to ask questions and receive information????? If the answer is just going to be "ask your coach", this place doesn't seem like it would be very valuable in terms of learning and information gathering.

Besides, I was under the impression that a lot of you coaches don't like it when people, especially parents, ask you questions about levels. So what's a person to do???? :confused:

I agree with dunno. Different gyms handle prep-op/usag in different ways and may have specific rules and requirements regarding competing USAG v. Prep-op. Some gyms use prep-op as a recreational league and others use it in within their USAG program (use it to skip level 6 and move on to optionals to give an example). It would be best for her to address this with her HC and reading this post, I assume she is a gymnast. To the OP, sounds like you know what you need to do. I'd find out what their requirements are to compete USAG and see if they would allow you to move over. Good luck!

I agree with Dunno.