WAG Mixed leg dominance

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Credence

Proud Parent
Hi! I’m new to chalkbucket and was wondering if anyone had some insight on mixed leg dominance and how to choose a side. I have searched for threads on this subject but none seem to quite answer my question so I thought I’d come out of lurking and ask my question :) My 6 year old pre-team daughter seems to be a bit unusual in that she is mixed leg dominant in an odd way: she cartwheels left and handstands right! I have no clue how she managed to learn those on opposite legs, but that’s where we are at. At first her coach was going to switch everything to the left because of her cartwheel, but then after watching her more decided she does everything else on the right so she needs to switch her cartwheel and round off. She is trying very hard and can now cartwheel and is working on the round off, but these skills are nowhere as nice as she can do them on her left. It seems so hard to switch a round off! She started trying to do handstands and cartwheels before she was quite 3, so it is pretty ingrained as to which leg she likes to use. Did she just practice her cartwheel on her wrong side for years and is actually right side dominant? Has anyone dealt with this before? How did you finally decide which leg to go with? Has anyone experienced this and successfully switched a child’s round off?