Parents Need advice for Newbie mom re: classes

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

ElizaBrooke

Proud Parent
Hi all,

I'm a Newbie mom here, and my daughter's been begging to take gymnastics classes for years. She's 8 1/2 now, and has taken dance classes since 2yrs, and figure skating since 5 years. Graceful and athletic (soccer since 5yrs, too). We had her in 6 months of gymnastics classes at 6 1/2, then we stopped because I wasn't crazy about the gym we were with and I was too tired from all the other activities to look for a new gym. But now, we're taking a break from the other activities, and we've heard of a "good" gym in the area that friends of ours belong to (they're on the competitive team there). So, my daughter tried a beginner class there, since we were told she needed to try that class out first and they would place her higher if she was skilled enough to be promoted.

30 minutes into the hour class, my daughter is crying and waving for me to approach the area where she's in line to cross a low beam (just a few inches from the floor) and she runs out to me as I approach and sobs, "I'm so bored I can't take it anymore. We can't even go on the high beams and this is baby stuff mom- jumping on the trampoline just for fun?! I don't want to do this!!" An assistant approached me with concern and I asked her if there was any chance my daughter could just try the class that's a little higher instead since she was miserable in this one. The assistant asked the coach and he said she wasn't qualified for the higher class and she needs to get her skills better first. He didn't say which skills, exactly, and I certainly didn't want to challenge him, so I told daughter this was it or we could go. She sadly continued with the class.