Parents New here, mom to two new gymnasts :)

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Twinmom

Proud Parent
Hello! I am happy to have found this forum, it's full of so much great info.! My twin girls (4 1/2) started gymnastics in October. We tried a dance class before that, and they were bored & not wanting to go :/ So, gymnastics it was! They are loving it, and just recently their coach recommended they move to the 5/6 year old class. I have no gymnastics knowledge or experience (they get their apparent natural athletic talent from their dad ;) and really had no clue about "levels" and how they work until I google searched it today (and happened to find this forum!)
It sounds a little more complicated than I bargained for signing them up for a little tumbling class! Lol, but I am happy they have found something they love to do, and grateful that at this point they seem to be progressing at about the same rate so they can stay together. If there are any other moms of twins here, how do you handle it if and when they don't?! The thought of them being compared in that way, or separated kind of scares me, but I guess we'll cross that bridge if and when we get there.
It is fun & interesting to see them develop different strengths though! One of them has just perfected her cartwheel (the other isn't even close) and the other is the only one in her class who can do a pullover!
Anyway, looking forward to watching them grow with gymnastics & learning as we go. :)

welcome, and thank you for supporting your local gymnastics club!:)

Welcome.
Yah for finding something your kids are loving.
Sounds like they are quite different gymnasts (did the one that is good at cartwheels prefer dance to the other one?) but great they are both loving it.
Having siblings in the same sport/school/world etc will always end with some comparisons/competition between them even if you don't know it but worry about it when it happens I say.