Parents Won't Pay

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I'm a high school student as well as a gymnast, obviously.

The gym that I go to is 40 minutes away from where I live. Practices are four days a week three hours each. With gymnastics and school I only have a couple of hours a day to do anything else.

My parents have decided that they are going to only pay a set amount of money each month for me to do gymnastics starting in February. This means that I HAVE to get a job.

The problem is most places don't want to hire me since I don't have a lot of time to work other than on weekends.

Has anyone else had problems similar to this? What do you suggest I do?

job

I worked at Outback Steak house as a hostess in college. they were always begging me to work weekends!! weekends are very busy in the restuarant industry! It's worth a try!!! Good Luck!!!

Hmm... I've never really been interested in a job in the food industry... But, the trade off would definitely be worth it.

Thanks for the idea. :)

You could also try asking if there's something you can do at your gym. Where my kids go, some of the upper level team members coach preschool and rec classes. We also have a juice bar some of the kids work at.

I have considered that but, due to my lack of experience in gymnastics let alone coaching it I don't expect it to happen. Still something I will look into though.

It would be convenient considering I spend most of my time over there anyway.