WAG Prone to overuse injuries?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

K

katlinchen

I have always been a healthy, active child. I am in gymnastics for 1 year now and I made it to Level 5 but will be a Level 6 soon - hopefully! I have always wanted to study sports and become a teacher, but do gymnastics as a hobby. I don't focus on being competetive - I just want to be a strong, flexible, healthy tumbler - Level 7 or so is my goal :)

The problem is - I always always get overuse injuries! I have never ever head any broken bones or something in my life, but since months I get one overuse injury after the other!

I have shin splints which don't get better, my arms (distal bicep or ulnar nerve or whatever) always hurt when I do bar work or pull-ups, last week my snapping hip tendon got inflamed, my wrists often hurt and today my right knee started to hurt :(

I started training 2 times a week for 2 hours, then 3 times. Now I train skills 8 hours a week and strength about 4 hours a week. I am well conditioned, I am far the strongest in my team (I love strength training), I can do some pull-ups (6) and leg raises (20) my core is strong and so are my calves and shoulders. I always warm-up before doing anything and I always stretch and I am really flexible. I never ever really give a 100% in training because I am too scared to injure myself :(

I can't sleep very well anymore, all I want to do is going to college, studying sports and having a nice time there - that's what I wanted since I was 10 years old!!!

But these constat, nagging pains hinder me since 1 year. I have had a physical check, lunge test and blood test. I am super healthy according to this, I just had a little Vit D and iron deficieny - but I am taking pills since 4 weeks now and it doesn't help.

Has anyone got an idea why this happens? Or similar experiences?