Recruiting Gymnasts for Olympic-Style weightlifting??

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi there!
My name is Dan Hartley and I am a strength coach for Asheville Strength and Conditioning.

I was hoping I could get some insight from those of you savvy in the gymnast community as to how I can go about recruiting current/former gymnasts for our sport.
I am not in anyway trying to take them away from the sport of Gymnastics. Not at all. Ideally I would be looking for men/women/boys/girls who enjoyed gymnastics and were competent at it but, for whatever reason, could not excel in competition and due to that have become bored or quit altogether. It seems a shame to let any natural ability go to waste.

Generally speaking, gymnasts have the best athletic base for competitive Olympic Weightlifting.
For anyone unfamiliar with the Olympic movements of the Snatch and Clean and Jerk here is a video of random elite level lifters from the past 10 years or so. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GUl7UqbL3uc

O
lympic weightlifters are trained to become the most efficient movers of weight. This requires large amounts of balance, timing, flexibility/mobility, body-awareness, and dedication. So you can see why gymnasts make for great Oly lifters.

We are a young club but are very dedicated to producing athletes and competitive Olympic Weightlifters to grow the sport. I apologize for the long message but if anyone has any ideas as to how I can get gymnasts interested please let me know!!

Dan Hartley
daniel.jacob.hartley@gmail.com

I don't want to sound harsh, I really don't, but I'm just gonna be honest.

My friends who have quit gymnastics through the years for various reasons probably would not like weightlifting. Any girls from the sport of gymnastics in general, I can't really see them weightlifting, most of them are just so petite!