Renting a Gymnastics Business

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Melody

Coach
Gymnast
I was wondering if anyone has had any experience renting a gymnastics business. I have the opportunity to rent my former gym. Gym ownership is my ultimate professional goal. I have a Masters degree in Physical Education and Coaching. The business itself has been active for over 20 years. The owner of the business also owns the building it's in. She has offered to rent me the entire business (I'd be responsible for paying the utilities too). Before I talk numbers with her, what should I be looking for in those numbers? Any rule of thumb to help me determine whether or not I can afford this and whether or not it will be worth it. It's a small business with the total coaching hours about equal to what I am currently working somewhere else. I have been a successful program director in the past and feel I am not being used to my potential in my current position. I also see room for growth in this business opportunity (i.e. bringing back their team program). I feel like at this point, renting is really the only option I have as I don't have the credit or money to start from the ground up. Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Can you really rent someone your business? Seems like a potential IRS nightmare. Incorrectly classifying someone as a contractor rather than an employee has gotten businesses in trouble lately, and it seems like that's essentially what would have to be done. Maybe she should hire you as a manager if she wants to retain ownership but still retire. This is what usually happens.

Look for profit/discretionary income that is greater than the rent.

I have no idea about tax implications etc, but it does sound a bit odd.
Also, are you saying that you would take on all of the coaching yourself?

As @gymdog suggests, I would ask them to at least initially hire you as a manager for a trial period of say 6 months.