Coaches Reporting a coach for bad practise?!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

LucyTRA

Coach
Gymnast
Judge
I'm a level one coach and trampoline gymnast. I set up the trampoline club at my university and I am the chair of it, as well as coaching there, but in order for me to coach because I'm only a level one, we need a level 2 or higher present. The university appointed this girl who is a level 3 coach but she is slowly driving me insane and I don't know what to do.

She took her level three several years ago when it was all on the old system before it was endorsed by UKCC. She also hasn't used her coaching skills in a club environment before (ever, only rec) and was never in a club herself, so she has no idea how they are run, and won't listen to me as she views me as her junior.

This is all irritating but not really a reason for taking any action, however, she also is INCREDIBLY lax about safety, and that is where my concerns lie.
She allows people to train with piercings and jewelry on, and for Muslim girls who wear headscarves to train with pins at their throats.

She also allows gymnasts to lounge on the end decks leaving no spotters for entire 2 hour (sometimes longer) sessions.

She leaves the room when she is supposed to be coaching, leaving me alone (which invalidates her insurance, and mine!) with everyone bouncing.

She wears jewelry herself when coaching and supporting.

She spends a lot of time chatting with her friends who also work in the sports centre, which this week led to her failing to mat me for a crash dive (thankfully I didn't really need it) and subsequently a ball out (I really did need it) but refused to admit that she was too distracted to throw the mat in

She encourages people to perform skills which are recommended by BG to only be done with a mat (and she trains in bad habits)