WAG [Request] Proposed Changes

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Valentin

Coach
Hi Everyone

So I have been coaching boys for the past 2 years, and have fallen out of the touch with the girls side of gymnastics. As fate would have it looking for new work, and girls is on the table, but i would like to quickly catch up on what is happening, especially with the new proposed changes.

Can anyone tell me what is going on, or provide me with any preliminary documentation etc.
All help welcome

Thanks,

Hi Everyone

So I have been coaching boys for the past 2 years, and have fallen out of the touch with the girls side of gymnastics. As fate would have it looking for new work, and girls is on the table, but i would like to quickly catch up on what is happening, especially with the new proposed changes.

Can anyone tell me what is going on, or provide me with any preliminary documentation etc.
All help welcome

Thanks,

http://usagym.org/PDFs/Women/Junior Olympics/2013-2020Finalelementlist-March2011.pdf

These are the changes that will start in fall of 2013. Is that what you were looking for?

What we know for sure: (per April issue of Technique magazine, page 14.)
For compulsories the level #'s are shifting downward- so new 3 (current 4) all skills stay the same with the option of doing a glide kip mount on bars OR the current glide pull over mount. Also new 5 (current 6) can do a bwo, a back extension roll, OR a BHS step out on beam. Other than that- everything skill wise is the same as present. Only the music and routines will change.

We know nothing for sure about optionals other than the fact that a new level is being added. Optionals will now be level 6-level 10. The PROPOSED changes to optional levels goes something like this:
New level 6- beginner optional- only 1 B skill. Current 7 requires 2 B skills. Also, current 7 allows some UB C skills to be performed at B value. I understand this will not be an option.