WAG ROundoff back handspring before standing back handspring on the tumbl track

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hi, I am a 29 year old female gymnast training recreational gymnastics three times per week (about nine hours). I have never done gymnastics as a kid and started adult classes three years ago. I have been learning standing back handspring for two years but I am still not able to do it. My shape is correct using the roller but when my coach spots me it feels like I completely lack power to go over. It is really frustrating because if my power is not enough it can be painful for the people spotting me (spotting an adult is not always easy). Occasionally we train RO BH on the tumbl track and at least in that case I feel like I have enough power to go over. I still need to work on the transition tough because my arch is always insufficient. I guess my question is: "is it possible to learn RO BH before standing BH?". I only have six months left before I move to a new country where I am not sure I will find a gym with a good adult program and I would really like to get RO BH before leaving. Should I concentrate on that or is it better to just keep working on standing BH even if I don't see any improvement?
Thanks a lot in advance for the help

maybe concentrate on your exciting move to another country. what do i know...:cool:

Yes, it's quite possible to learn a round off back handspring before a standing back handspring and many people do.

My preference is for a gymnast to learn the standing back handspring first, so that the gymnast learns where they are in the air to help once you add the power of the round off.

But a round off back handspring is easier for most gymnasts as they have the power of the round off to take them over.

But a bigger concern is why you have not achieved the standing back handspring on the tumble trak yet after two years of training 9 hours a week.