Parents Scoring for a

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

MomIdidit!

Proud Parent
Pardon me if I am asking this incorrectly but I'm still new at this. As far as scoring goes....my daughter was recently at a meet where the awards were broken into two groups. One group was 6-7 year olds and the other group was 8-9 year olds. All of the age groups had their meet at the same time.

I am wondering if the judges know the girls ages as they are judging them and if so do the judges score differently for different age?

The judges score on the number, not the name or age of the child. The meet host either has a scoring system that the judges enter number xxx and score 8.6 or the host gym provides cards with the gymnast's number. Ages are broken down so similar aged kids are competing against eachother. Most would not be happy with a 6 year old level 4 going against a 12 year old level 4.

Judges score each athlete against the standard - the code of points. They do not score gymnast A against gymnast B. Each gymnast's score is then entered into the scoring system regardless of actual age or age division being used for awards. At the end of the meet, the scoring system then puts all of the athletes in the pre-defined age divisions and orders them from top to bottom. The age divisions used for the purposes of awards may span a given range of birthdays determined by the meet director in order to produce equal (or near equal) size award groups.

Except for a state meet where everyone in the session is the same age by design, I do not think the judges know the age of the kid they are scoring besides for what they are able to guess from how old they LOOK like they are.