Self taught front aerial

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

pi-xx

Gymnast
Hi everybody !

I'm a self taught gymnast and i recently got my front walkover, dive front walkover and standing side aerial. With that said, i think that the natural continuation is to learn a front aerial but as it is a pretty dangerous skill,idk if i'm ready to do it.
My front and dive front walkovers are great but my landing is not always very stable. Moreover,i don't have my front handspring ( i only have a gymnastic mat and so i only can do it from a stand bc i don't have a lot of space, and i think that,for some reasons, standing front handsprings are hard).
Considering the skills i have, do you think i might be ready to try a front aerial ?

I would work on making your landing better on the skills listed. Personally, I would like to be able to do a front handspring before getting close to a front ariel. If you dont have much space it would be hard to do a front ariel anyways.

Hmm i have been told that it would be hard to do a side aerial if i don't have much space but i managed to learn it only by standing so i thought that i could do the same for front aerials,like learning them from a stand..but I will try to have my front HP first then ,thanks for replying

Hmm i have been told that it would be hard to do a side aerial if i don't have much space but i managed to learn it only by standing so i thought that i could do the same for front aerials,like learning them from a stand..but I will try to have my front HP first then ,thanks for replying
Front aerials are a lot harder to do standing than side, but definitely possible. Goodluck!

I would strongly recommend that you don't teach yourself skills like front aerials at home. This skill puts a lot of pressure on your legs and back if done incorrectly, which can at best lead to overuse injuries and at worst lead to a very serious acute injury.

Why not join a tumbling class.