Shoot throughs

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

moimoi16

Coach
I am a gymnastics coach in Canada, and this year our routines changed for the beginner Level (compareable to Level 3 /4 from the USA). The shoot through has been incorperated in the bar routine, and I am having a really hard time getting my girls get over the fear of this skill.

I have never had to teach a move like this before, so I have no idea what types of drills to do, or what to look for when its done correctly. Are they supposed to cast high to put their leg through? One of my girls does this, and even though she gets her leg though, she tends to fall forward after the skill because of all the momentum she has.

The more common problem in my class though is the girls casting, but pushing their bodies away from the bar instead of being overtop like they should be. They dont do this if I ask them to do a normal cast, but as soon as I say shoot through, they change their cast on me.I believe they are doing this becasue they are afraid of the skill, but I'm not sure how to fix this problem.

Finally in the cut back (swinging their leg back around the bar so they are no longer splitting the bar, but in front support) does anyone know any tricks to help the girls get their leg over? Lots of my girls hit their leg on the way over.

Thanks in advance to anyone who takes the time to reply!

i'll try to do this tomorrow. i'm tired and in need of some sleep. once i get started i may fall asleep mid-typing.:)

For the cut back I have the girls transfer their weight to their opposit arm and one quick motion, swing the leg over the bar. Make sure their chest stays over or just over the bar. My girls will usually hit their ankle a few time before they finally understand that they need to lift their leg a smidge higher. But as I see it, bumps and bruises is just a sign of the gymnast sucessfully trying to concur the hard skills.