Should I try doing harder skills that are not for my level?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I am recently trying to do harder skills that are level 9 material and I am only in level 8. Should I keep doing the harder skills so that I could be prepared for level 9 or should I just focus on my levels skills? :confused:

I think you would probably want to make sure your level 8 skills are nicely brushed up before trying to go ahead of yourself, because if your level 8 skills are in great shape, I would imagine it will make your level 9 skills come that much easier.

I think most everyone trains for the levels above them, otherwise you would have a long way to go each season. If you have your level 8 skills, you should try working on level 9 skills.

That makes sense. As I am still fairly new to the sport and its levels, and how moving up works. With ballet, we had to have everything practically perfect before we moved up and taught new stuff

It really depends on how well you can do your level 8 skills and what your competition schedule is. If you've got a meet next week, you probably want to work on you level 8 routines. If you don't have a meet for a while and can do your level 8 skills pretty well I don't see a problem with working some level 9 skills. What does your coach have you working on? I'm sure he/she is planning your workouts to get you ready for your meets and to move up.

It really depends on how well you can do your level 8 skills and what your competition schedule is. If you've got a meet next week, you probably want to work on you level 8 routines. If you don't have a meet for a while and can do your level 8 skills pretty well I don't see a problem with working some level 9 skills. What does your coach have you working on? I'm sure he/she is planning your workouts to get you ready for your meets and to move up.