Skipping Levels NDP

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Just curious on people's thoughts about skipping levels in NDP eg going from Level 1 to 3. Does this happen often? Would you let your child? Thanks in advance :)

Around here level 3 seems to be the most skipped. (there are a few skills no one seems to like)
But to answer your question, if they had all the skills then yes I would skip them, definitely, no need to be bored doing the same stuff for a year if they can do all the next level things.
Depends how much you care about winning.

Thanks, I have no gymnastics background so have little idea of what generally happens. The coach approached us today to ask if we would be interested. My DD is motivated by learning new skills but is as equally, if not more, motivated by success so we are concerned that she won't achieve the same as this year (placed top 3 each comp, top 4 in team event). I've set up a meeting with the coaches and my husband and I to discuss, but I think we will just progress to Level 2. It also means 3 x 3hr training each week, have to balance fatigue with school and general downtime too! Thanks for mentioning the skills - I know it sounds naive but gymnastics is a complete new world and language to us, so we are unsure what a gymnast should be able to do with each level :)

You can skip any level up to 3, so you can even skip the, all and go straight to level 4. From level 4 you have to pass levels to move up, but skipping is still possible if you get the required scores, but not just an option for anyone.

It is common in a talented kid.