Sports Acro!!!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I'm pretty new to being a member on chalkbucket, but have been lurking for a while!!;)
One thing that i have noticed is the lack of threads on Sports Acrobatics, i dont know whether this is purely because theres not many acrobatic gymnasts on here, or if you just skim the subject and join in with artistic threads(which i have been doing!)
My name is Charlotte, and i have been doing gymnastics on and off for as long as i can remember, from when i was about 4 i did gymnastics, but it was a general club, not artistic, or acro, just beginner, forward rolls, cartwheels etc. Even though i loved the sport, i just got bored, and at the time there were no other clubs anywhere near me, throughout primary school i continued to play about with gymnastics in my house, and attended a few general clubs, at school, which always ended up shutting down for some reason.:(
Then, when i was about 13, an artistic club opened up a few miles away from my house, i was so happy! I was there for a couple of years, just as a rec, and a 'hobby squad' gymnast, my Mom hated it, it seemed like because i wasnt naturally talented, and because i was a beginner, with not much experience, i was treated like dirt.I was'nt improving, and ended up just teaching myself most training sessions, nobody seemed to have passion for the sport like i did, i was the only one in leo's, with my hair tied up, they all just came in sweatpants and hoodies, with their hair loose!
Even with all of the above factors, i continued, because i loved the sport, We never worked on floor, just messed about in the pits!
I loved beam, and vault, just could never go on them because it was a 'hobby squad' it seemed like it was purley for a laugh.