Parents Standing back tucks...

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

meganliz77

Proud Parent
It's been awhile since I've posted... Our season wrapped up in February :)
I haven't been at my DD practices and only knew what new skills she was working on if she shared them with me. She started the season as a Level 3, but following states was moved to level 4. She competed 4 meets as a level 4.

Yesterday I made it to about an hour of her 3 hr practice and got to watch some of the "new" and exciting stuff they've been working on.

Right now, the big ones are back handspring on beam, ROBHS-BT, and standing back tuck.

Wow-- the standing back tuck appeared to be kicking her butt-- constantly landing on her butt or shins. Her ROBHS-BT is looking great but the standing tuck, not so much. I heard the coach mention to her that she wasn't getting her toes up fast enough.

I am a little worried because coach has told the girls that she wants them to have the SBT by the beginning of summer.

Is this skill a hard one (in general) for kiddos to catch on to? Is it reasonable to expect her to get it within the next month or two? When will she need this particular skill? She's a relatively quick learner, but gets frustrated when a skill isn't perfect right away-- she will work, work, work until she gets it (determined little bugger).

I know all of this is pretty subjective but wondering about others thoughts and experiences!!

I have a little one who's group is working these skills, and haven't seen a huge emphasis on getting the standing back tuck. Our L9's do a standing back tuck on beam...but that's about all I can think of.... Just a note, when they do work them, they do them off panels at first, then slowly work their way to the floor. Can she do them off a panel?

I think that's how she is working them right now-- off a panel. 3/4 of the time she is on her butt/legs...lol...she only gets it sometimes...