WAG Stay or Go?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

JumpingQueen

Proud Parent
Hello! I am pretty new to this sport and could use some advice. My youngest DD (age 7) is on a pre-team and her coach is saying she needs one more year of pre-team before competing. She really wants to compete but since he thinks she needs another year they aren't pushing the skills as much, and are spending most of practice on drills and strength. The coach said she could probably go to another gym and get on a team and compete level 3 but it's just not what he thinks is best for her. Do we stay or go? I'm just worried about her getting bored for a third year of pre-team and losing interest, and also just a wasted year of not learning skills and upping hours. BUT we love the gym and the coach so wwyd? And thank you in advance!

I think you have to look at what type of gym you are at. If they are successfully training high level gymnasts, then I would be more apt to trust the process, particularly since you like the gym and coaches. What level so they start competing? What scores do their girls get at the lower levels vs the upper levels (mymeetscores.com will help you find this out). It sounds like the gym has a philosophy of making the girls strong first, developing strong foundational skills and form before moving on to the actual skills needed to compete. So in that sense, it is not a wasted year as long as they are doing it right. But you also have to look at it from your dd's perspective in that she may lose interest and quit before she even has a chance to compete.