Parents That lady you hate on Twitter

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Ooooo, I love numbers so I’ll play. I’m not a proponent for super high hours, but I do have some issues with this study. First and foremost, it was outdated long before it was ever published. Data set runs from 1985-2005, but wasn’t published until 2015. Secondly, the levels are not clearly established. At what levels do the hours change. Obviously, the higher the hours, the higher the level, for the most part, but there could be overlaps that skew the data. It also doesn’t mention the number of gymnasts in the dataset. I played with some of the numbers. For hours to be the ‘cause’ of the increase in injury, you would expect to see a degree of linearity between the two. When I plotted the trend line, I got 88%, which is not awful, but it often means it’s a chapter, but not the whole story. I made some general assumptions about the groupings, level 1-3, 4-7, 8-9, 10-elite. Starting at elite & level 10, I also doubled the # of gymnasts in those levels down to level 3, then halved level 2 & level 1. I came up with for every 2 gymnasts in level 10-elite, there are 10 girls in levels 8-9, 180 girls in levels 4-7, and 336 girls in levels 1-3. When those numbers are plotted for a trend line, the degree of linearity is 99.97%. This tells me that the number of injuries per 1000 hours is probably more closely related to the number of gymnasts in those levels as opposed to the number of hours they train.