Coaches Toddler Gymnastics ideas & techniques! Need advice & can give advice. IM A COACH!!

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

I have been working with all age groups in gymnastics as a gymnastics coach for a little over 15 years. I mostly work with toddlers & other younger children. Those are the ages that I feel I do the best with since I am great with kids. I think they see me as a big kid, not only because I am a kid at heart and act like a kid lol, but I am also just 4 ft. 8 inches. Haha. Anyway, I wanted to make a post about toddler classes to give advice & take advice. I worked in Kentucky at a gym since 2006, & in 2011 I did my own gymnastics lessons at different schools and local rec center as well as work for a friends business. I moved to Tennessee a couple years ago & started working at a gym there. I am over and in charge of managing most of the toddler classes there. They do things a lot different. For one, the gym I worked at before in Ky. wasnt that big. We did a little beam and bar but it was mostly just floor work. So, I have learned a lot at this new place when it comes to the different levels, beam, bar, vault, etc. I have also learned the different names of things. There are times I feel like they don't run the toddler classes properly. I know the parents seemed very happy that I was there. They said it was something new and fresh and I did really great with the little ones. I try to use some of my techniques that I had prior before coming to the new place and also be mindful and respectful of how the owner/boss wants me to do things as well. I do get frustrated at times because I feel like he doesn't have faith in me. He says i don't take or like constructive criticism very well. It isn't that at all. I don't mind to take criticism, but only if it seems logical or if I was actually doing anything wrong.