WAG typical ages at different JO levels

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Orangesoda

Proud Parent
I'm pretty new to this whole gymnastics scene, so I'm hoping to gain some generalities regarding my daughter's trajectory within the sport. I know as parents, we all want to believe our kids are exceptional (and they are of course), but I guess I'm trying to figure out if mine is exceptional at gymnastics. Can this judgement be made when a child is very young? How much is training and how much is talent? Hopefully this wont be viewed as some kind of "brag" or whatever - i mean, my kid is still working on cartwheels, so i know i'm FAR from holding any bragging rights!! Like I said, I just wondering if I can gauge where we're headed based on where we're at NOW. Are we ahead of the curve or behind? Our story:

My daughter started a little rec class in our town when she'd just turned 4 years old. After the first class they placed her in an invite class(twice a week) and she continued there for about 10 months, when I pulled her out and we started at a different (more well-known) gym 45 minutes from our home. She's been placed into their competitive track and after having been there a month, was just moved up into a more advanced class this past week. She'll be 5 september 30. We do two hours of gymnastics a week. She seems to have pretty typical skills for a 4 year old - cartweel, handstand, pullover, front and back rolls, just started kicking over a bridge once in awhile (yes, i know these are to be done sparingly), casting on bar, back hip circle with spot....you get the picture. I've noticed that her form is quite a bit better than most of the kids in her class - legs always straight, toes pointed, etc.