Parents Update on self taught gymnast

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Olga

Proud Parent
I recently posted a thread about how my dd is a self taught gymnast. On August 25th, we went to a real gym to enroll her in classes (we aren't moving until December). And there was, the old coach, who said she was too old last year willing to take her in. She started going to classes there twice a week, and seemed to be quite fearless. She ACTUALLY did a RO Back tuck and front tuck on her first try (rod floor). But soon, she started telling me some strange things. They were doing NO conditioning, there were NO mats under the high beam at any time during practice, and the coach had a large number of students which were waaayyy less advanced so he just told her to go to bars or beam and she basically coaches herself. My concern is that he only cares about difficulty and not technique so as soon as she could do a round off back handspring back tuck he told her to do a layout without a spot. I mean, the kid JUST did a new skill and you expect her to do it without doing any drills, conditioning etc!!! I mean, she is improving but her new skills look way sloppier than the rest. This is all she learned after going five times: front tuck, RO back tuck, (these aren't too bad), RO back pike, front walkover on low beam, three mounts on high beam, handstand on high beam, handstand flat back vault (vault with mats piled on top).
My question is, should she just stay there and continue coaching herself or not? She is a perfectionist so she will clean up eventually but we are leaving in 3.5 months.