Coaches What should I do?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

aileenmaryf

Coach
Gymnast
I am an assistant coach to a high school gymnastics team, and I am very frustrated with the head coach. Last year both the head coach and I were new to the team. We had worked in a local club together for about a year before we took on this high school team. Last year there were a few frustrations, but I thought that it was really due to us just getting the feel for what coaching a high school team is like. I stupidly thought that things would be better this year. I was definitely wrong...Some of the things I would be willing to look past but when they start to pile up its overwhelming. Here are some of the problems I am encountering...

First of all, she is a full time student (as am I) and she stretches herself WAY too thin... She misses Monday practices for school. This leaves me the only coach there to lead a practice of 18 girls who are very easily side-tracked. She also sometimes leaves practices early to go to another job (One day a week I leave 30 minutes early for my job but usually by the time I leave, they only have 15 minutes of actual practice and then they have to tear down) For this coming Friday I signed up to do an event at the club we both work at which is during our practice time. She got mad that I said I wouldn't be there if we had practice at the normal time (even though she specifically told me "oh you can sign up for that. that's fine") and then she got really annoyed (but finally gave in) when I said "well you miss Monday practices so I thought missing one practice would be okay".