WAG Woodward camp question -- Sleep???

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

emorymom

Proud Parent
I saw a day schedule and now I'm concerned about the amount of sleep time offered. One of my children needs 10 hours for a full night's sleep.

The camp where I worked as a counselor has lights-out at nine, up at seven, and a generous rest period after lunch.

Woodward seems to be much less!

dd hasn't attended that camp for several years but I remember it to be very flexible. They only required one training session a day other sessions were optional and many gymnasts chose to relax by the pool, do another activity, or in the cabins during this time. Also remember that it is only for 5-6 days unless she is doing back to back camps. Most kids can handle a change in sleep schedule for that short amount of time. I wouldn't worry too much about it unless there is a medical condition that requires her to need extra rest, in which case I would talk with the camp to see if they can accommodate that.

I went there a couple summers ago- 2? 3? 4? and I won't butter it up for you: it is highly unlikely she will get 10 hours straight. Probably close to 7 or 8 through the night; but as gymgal said, she can rest during other parts of the day, she isn't required to go to all the training sessions.

dd hasn't attended that camp for several years but I remember it to be very flexible. They only required one training session a day other sessions were optional and many gymnasts chose to relax by the pool, do another activity, or in the cabins during this time. Also remember that it is only for 5-6 days unless she is doing back to back camps. Most kids can handle a change in sleep schedule for that short amount of time. I wouldn't worry too much about it unless there is a medical condition that requires her to need extra rest, in which case I would talk with the camp to see if they can accommodate that.