Coaches Year Long Plan

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

hawaii_gymnast

Coach
Gymnast
Judge
I am trying to work to create a year long plan for my competitive group (approximately L4-L6), it's my first time coaching competitive and honestly don't know where exactly to start.
I want to create sort of a timeline of what I should work on: new skills, perfecting skills, half routines, full routines, heavier conditioning and flexibility etc.
The girls train 12 hours a week, 3 times of 4 hours each from September through June, there is some training now but they are with a different coach and I am helping out to get experience.
Competition season is January-May, with the majority of the meets running February-April.
The big meets of the season for these girls is a qualification to provincials (mid-March) and Provincials (mid-April), the rest of the meets are just invitationals.
Any help you have, suggestions of weeks to do each phase or your own yearly plan would be very helpful.
Thanks so much!

I was going to post about this topic too. I have three competitive teams and I'm starting to make year long plans for them.

The first group goes 6 hours a week (3 times, 2 hours at time) and they are all born in 2005. They have competed one season in level B (could be compared to level 3 in US).

The second group goes 9 hours a week (4 times a week) and they are born in 2001 and 2000. They are going to move up to level D which is comparable to (new) levels 4 and 5 in US.

And the last group consists of girls born 2001-1998 and they are all moving up to optionals. They go 12,5 hours a week (5 x 2,5 hours)

So I have my hands full of work... We have competitions from February to May but only 4-5 total so I find it difficult to separate the year into shorter sections. But I'm planning to break fall season into six three weeks pieces:

1: Conditioning and working on basics