WAG Is my kid over gymnastics?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Orangesoda

Proud Parent
I've been wrestling with this issue for several months now. I read a lot on this forum about girls who are bonkers about gym, practice at home all the time and can't get enough. I don't have one of those and honestly, I'm having a little trouble figuring my child out - and I think I have EVERYTHING figured out usually, so that's really saying something!

Does anyone have a gymnast who, at 5yrs old, pretended they didn't really like gym when people asked them about it? Does anyone have a kid who thanked them later for making them stick with it?

What questions do I need to be asking myself? I need a checklist. Coaches, what are the signs that a kid is just not cut out for this sport? I'm having trouble sifting typical 5yr old laziness from actual signs that this ain't her thing.

I know you don't know my child. I get that. I'm hoping a discussion might open my mind up to the way I need to be thinking about the topic. TIA.

At 5, I really don't think she can make a decision yet. I think that where you need to come in. Maybe a little break from gym may help. Sometimes, they go through this. They wanna be with mommy instead. My 4 year old was in and out of gym until just recently she decided she misses it.

How many hours a week is she doing gym? At five, while the occasional unwillingness to go to a practice is to be expected, in general they should be there infrequently enough that they're usually wanting a little more.

How many hours a week is she doing gym? At five, while the occasional unwillingness to go to a practice is to be expected, in general they should be there infrequently enough that they're usually wanting a little more.