WAG Toe one front bar dismount

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

Hello everyone
I have been working on toe on front dismounts for a few months now and it is pretty good but I am just stuck. Right before I land on the ground I open up and land feet first then onto my butt. This happens every time. Whenever I do it into the pit it's fine but then I go onto a mat and I hold back. Any suggestions?

When you say you 'hold back', what do you think that is about? Do you like the trick? Is it scary for you? Have you or anyone you know been hurt doing it? There could also be the technical side of things (video would be nice). Have taught that skill in the past, and I know it's not as easy as it looks! :) Might just need to be patient and keep practicing. Let us know.

Sounds normal, you will get it, just commit to the landing and make sure no matter what that you are not kicking out to straight legs. :)

As far the act of landing goes......

While balancing..... stand in dish/hollow/scoop shape that has your knees and hips slightly bent with your heels 1-2 inches off the floor. Tension all the muscles it takes to hold this position. Remain in this position and tension while a team mate holds you by your shoulders and tips you forward and backward. The person helping you will have to change from standing in front to standing behind you. You only need to be tipped enough that you can feel the effort it takes to hold this position and remember what you want to open to as you finish the skill. Add to your work by standing in that position and resist a team mates efforts to straighten your legs, or hips