WAG 15 year olds just starting out

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

W

wizzie

My friend and I are just starting gymnastics at the ymca next month. We're both 15. I was wondering if we would be put in a level 1 group if we have a prep op program? My friend's mother talked to some lady at the ymca but I'm not sure if she works there or not. Anyhow, the lady said we have to go through the level process from levels 1-3 and then we can join prep op. I don't want to waste my time because I want to learn as much as I can. We only have 2 full years left before we go to college. My other friend joined gymnastics 6 months ago and is in prep op. I don't think they made her go through levels 1-3. Is anyone here in the prep op group? Did you start out in that group or have previous training before that? Thank you! :)

I'm no expert and hopefully a coach will chime in, but generally a good foundation will serve you well to be able to "learn as much as you can." You can't do a round-off back handspring without first having a solid round-off.

Don't think of going through the lower levels as "wasting your time." It wasn't wasting your time to learn your ABC's because they are the foundation for reading, writing, etc. The same holds true for gymnastics (and any sport). Being older, you may be able to progress through these levels or learning these skills more quickly, but they still must be learned.

You haven't even started yet, so go and see what they do with you and where they put you. And don't try to compare yourself to your friend's progress. You may progress more quickly or more slowly than someone else.

Good luck!

The skills build on each other. So you need to learn the skills in the lower levels before you can do the skills in the higher levels safely. I understand that you don't have a ton of time, but at the same time, you just can't rush it. It just isn't a sport that works that way. Have fun with it!