Coaches advice on special needs in rec class/anything i should do different?

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

jumpingjac5

Coach
Gymnast
I am a girls rec coach and in one of my older kids classes, I have a girl with downs syndrome. She is very high functioning and doesn't cause many problems and her mom has told me she is only in it for the social aspect and to have fun so I usually just let her do her own thing and adjust stations for her as much as I can. I am not certified to deal with kids with special needs but I am currently learning and like i said she hasn't given me any major issues to where i would feel a professional would need to interfere. The other girls in the class also try to help and encourage her but I can tell they get a little frustrated when I have to give a little bit more of my attention towards her.
I teach this class without a helper and usually don't struggle with handling it, my only concern is how I can give an equal amount of attention to both her and the five other girls in the class who are actually there to learn and get better without the girls or the parents thinking I am intentionally favoring one kid over the others.

I am a girls rec coach and in one of my older kids classes, I have a girl with downs syndrome. She is very high functioning and doesn't cause many problems and her mom has told me she is only in it for the social aspect and to have fun so I usually just let her do her own thing and adjust stations for her as much as I can. I am not certified to deal with kids with special needs but I am currently learning and like i said she hasn't given me any major issues to where i would feel a professional would need to interfere. The other girls in the class also try to help and encourage her but I can tell they get a little frustrated when I have to give a little bit more of my attention towards her.