Compulsory vs Optional results

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

rsm

Proud Parent
I will preface my post by saying that my DD is very little and about to join level 4 team, so I have very little experience in the gymnastics world.

I was looking at the States meet results and found that for DD's gym... the teams at the compulsory levels 4 - 6 did pretty well, placing either 3rd, 4th and 5th. But the teams at the optional levels 8 - 10 were all State champions. I will say that the girls in the compulsory levels are on the younger side, but not sure if that makes a difference in scoring.

And most of the other gyms that had very, very good teams at levels 3 and 4, dropped off a little for team placement in levels 5 and 6, and even more for optionals... in some cases some gyms didn't even seem to have an Optional team(s).

I haven't seen results from previous states meets. But if you were looking at the strengths of a gym and possibly getting to higher levels, is it more appropriate to look at compulsory results or optional results as one measure for comparison? And do looking at the scores tell you anything else about the gym?

I'm not thinking of changing gyms or anything. DD seems quite happy where she is and is progressing quite nicely. I was just looking at the results and wondering what, if anything, to make from them. DD competed against some girls in level 3 who were so much more polished in their form and performance, and I'm sure will compete against them again in level 4, so it would be interesting to see what the gap is like next year.