Coaches Controlling back fulls

DON'T LURK... Join The Discussion!

Members see FEWER ads

P

peace.love.gymnast

Something similar to this may be posted on here but I couldn't find it...
I have a 9 yr old that is doing fulls out of her RO BHS. The problem is that she keeps over rotating. When she's on floor ( I slightly spot her) she always does a 1 1/2...when on the air track she does a double full. I want her to be able to control 1 rotation on her own before really working doubles. She's a very powerful and fearless tumbler so I don't want to hold her back, but I want her to make correct progressions into skills. Can anyone give me some helpful tips or drills on what to have her do to slow it down a bit? I've tried several things but none seem to work. Thanks.

I am just a rec assistant coach, but also a gymnast. And i would say try and have her do it for a power hurdle or a few steps until she learns how to control it better. And also make sure she is not pulling her arms in super hard and tight, to make full she might only have to pull one arm, then pull both for doubles.

raise the floor to that it comes to her sooner. stack mats up. keep going until she 'find' herself. then peel away one mat at a time over a period of time and she'll end up 'controlling' or finding herself.

Gotta echo Dunno, here. What you're seeing as power, I see as lost. She's wrapping super hard because she can't follow what's going on.

Go back to basics. Flip-flop 1/2 turns to her back, layouts to her back, then full to her feet. Make sure she can see her toes on the progressions as a visual marker, and she will see the floor to stop.

Teach this gymnast a barani. Then teach this gymnast a half turn into a barani. Teach this gymnast a half twist pike flip to barani. Or half twist layout to barani.
Go ahead and let this gymnast learn the double full. Embrace the advantage. Make the full and the double full be like two different skills.
Then move on to triple full.